Here are some useful tips for selling your car in Idaho.
Certificate of Title
Complete the reverse side of the title:
- Buyer name and address.
- Buyer signature.
- Your signature
- Odometer disclosure if the car is less than 10 years old.
- Rebuilt from salvage disclosure if needed.
Complete the odometer disclosure on the back of the title. Automobiles older than 10 years are exempt.
If there’s no room on the title, you must complete the Federal Odometer Disclosure Statement.
Replacing a Lost Title In Idaho
If you don’t have a title for the vehicle, you can request a replacement by submitting the Duplicate Idaho Title Application.
Bill of Sale
Idaho requires that you provide a bill of sale.
Be sure to include:
- Buyer’s name.
- Vehicle description.
- Vehicle identification number (VIN)
- Sales price
- Date of sale
- Your signature
Be sure to keep a copy of the title and the Bill of Sale for your records.
PrivateAuto includes a bill of sale with your vehicle listing.
Release of Liability
Idaho law requires you to file a release of liability within 5 days of the sale. It’s best to file immediately so you aren’t held liable if the new owner:
- Uses the car in a crime
- Is in an accident
- Gets a ticket
Vehicle History Report
While it’s the buyer’s responsibility to research the car’s history, providing a history report helps you build trust with the buyer.
PrivateAuto now partners with AutoCheck. When you sell your car with PrivateAuto Premium, your AutoCheck report is included at no extra cost.
Idaho License Plates
Idaho requires you to remove the license plates before finalizing the sale.
The buyer will need to register the vehicle and apply for a new title.
Like a lot of car sellers, you may have listings on several sites. But when it’s time to close the deal, use PrivateAuto and close like a pro.