Virginia has unique rules for selling a used car. This handy guide will help make it simple.
Step 1 - Gather Documents
Certificate of Title
Complete Section A on the title. It’s at the bottom of the front side of the certificate.
- Odometer reading without tenths.
- Date of sale.
- Selling price.
- Your name, signature, and address.
- Buyer’s name and signature.
Bill of Sale
State law requires you to certify purchase price if the car is more than 5 years old. Recording the price in Section A on the title is good enough.
But it’s still a good idea to provide a bill of sale or complete the Virginia Vehicle Price Certification form as proof of the sale.
Your PrivateAuto listing includes an electronic bill of sale. Complete it and sign right in the app.
Vehicle History Report
You can earn the buyer’s trust by providing a vehicle history report. PivateAuto partner, AutoCheck, gives the best value for the money.
Step 2 - Arrange a Test Drive
The PrivateAuto test drive scheduler will suggest a location to meet for a test drive.
And forget the back-and-forth texts and phone calls that seem to go on and on forever.
Just choose the location and times that you’re available.
Step 3 - Complete the Sale
Remove the license plates before completing the sale. You can transfer them to another vehicle or return them to the DMV with form FMS-210 for a partial refund (up to 6 months).
You will need to inform the DMV that you’ve sold the car.
Selling your car is easy with PrivateAuto
- Advertise your car until sold.
- Free window brochure so you can advertise on the road.
- Manage and respond to offers.
- Free test drive and inspection scheduling tools.
Plus, you get ready-to-sign electronic documents for your state.